General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is the highest authority of ICSU and consists of representatives of the Scientific Union Members and of the National Scientific Members.

Since the inaugural event in 1931, which established ICSU, the organization has has held regular General Assemblies. These meetings provide a forum for conducting ICSU business and allow leading scientists to identify and discuss the world’s most pressing scientific issues.

Delegates at the 31st ICSU General Assembly in Auckland, New Zealand, in 2014. Photo: Brendon O'Hagan/ICSU

The GA meets every three years and is responsible for setting the general direction, policies and priorities for the next triennium. In 2005, after more than 70 years existence, ICSU underwent a transition, the key element of which was the approval of ICSU’s first ever strategic plan by the 28th GA in Suzhou, China.

The 31st General Assembly of the International Council for Science was held in Auckland, New Zealand, from 30 August to 3 September 2014. The next General Assembly in 2017 will be held in Taipei.

Terms of Reference for the General Assembly can be found in Statute 18 of the ICSU Statutes and Rules of Procedures.

Next General Assembly:

Past General Assemblies:

Rome, Italy. September 2011
Maputo, Mozambique. October 2008

President: Goverdhan Mehta

Resolution 29th General Assembly (english):
Decisions 29th General Assembly (english):
Decisions 29th General Assembly (french):
Suzhou/Shanghai, China, October 2005

President: Jane Lubchenco

Decisions 28th General Assembly (french):
Decisions 29th General Assembly (english):
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. September 2002

President: H. Yoshikawa

Decisions 27th General Assembly (english):
Resolution 27th General Assembly (english):
Cairo, Egypt. September 1999

President: W. Arber

Decisions 26th General Assembly (english):
Washington DC, USA. September 1996

President: J.C.I. Dooge

Santiago, Chile. October 1993
Sofia, Bulgaria. October 1990

President: M.G.K. Menon

Beijing, China. September 1988

President: J.C. Kendrew

Berne, Switzerland. September 1986

President: J.C. Kendrew

Ottawa, Canada. September 1984

President: J.C. Kendrew

Cambridge, UK. September 1982

President: D.A. Bekoe

Amsterdam, Netherlands. September 1980

President: C. de Jager

Athens, Greece. September 1978

President: F.B. Straub

Washington DC, USA. October 1976

President: H. Brown

Istanbul, Turkey. September 1974

President: J. Coulomb

Helsinki, Finland. September 1972

President: V.A. Ambartsumian

Madrid, Spain. September 1970

President: V.A. Ambartsumian

Paris, France. September 1968

President: J.M. Harrison

Bombay, India. January 1966

President: H.W. Thompson

Vienna, Austria. November 1963

President: S. Horstadius

London, UK. September 1961

President: R. Peters

Washington DC. USA, October 1958

President: L.V. Berkner

Oslo, Norway. August 1955

President: B. Lindblad

Amsterdam, Netherlands. October 1952

President: A. von Muralt

Copenhagen, Denmark. October 1949

President: J.A. Fleming

London, UK. July 1946

President: H.R. Kruyt

London, UK. May 1937

President: N.E. Norlund

Brussels, Belgium. July 1934

President: G.E. Hale

Brussels, Belgium. July 1931

President: E. Picard