Other sites
Strengthening international science for the benefit of society

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Home > What we do > Interdisciplinary Bodies > Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP)

Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP)

Created: 1966

President/Chairman: Dr. Nat Gopalswamy

Secretary General: Dr. Marianna ShepherdSCOSTEP logo

The Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) was originally established as an Inter-Union Commission following a Resolution adopted at the 11th General Assembly of ICSU in Bombay in January 1966. It was modified by the 14th General Assembly of ICSU in Helsinki in 1972 to a Special Committee, and by the 17th General Assembly in 1978 to a Scientific Committee.

Its principal tasks are: to promote international interdisciplinary programmes in solar-terrestrial physics, and to organize and coordinate such programmes of interest to, and approved by, at least two of the following bodies: IAU, IUGG, IUPAP, URSI, and COSPAR (each specific programme is normally of finite duration); to define the data relating to these programmes that should be exchanged through the World Data Centres; to provide such advice as may be required by the ICSU bodies and World Data Centres concerned with these programmes; and to work with other ICSU bodies in the coordination of symposia in solar-terrestrial physics, especially on topics related to SCOSTEP’s programmes.

SCOSTEP website

Document Actions