Other sites
Strengthening international science for the benefit of society

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Home > About > Local Organisers

Local Organisers

Local Organising Committee

A Local Organising Committee helps with the implementation of the programme and with the logistics of the event:


  • Alice Abreu, Regional Coordinator, ICSU Rio+20 Initiative


  • Ary Mergulhão, Science and Technology Officer, UNESCO's Brazil Office


  • Jorge Spitalnik, WFEO UN Relations Committee

Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Brazil

  • Carlos Joly, Director, Secretariat of Policies and Programs in Research and Development, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Brazil

Brazilian Academy of Sciences

  • Jerson Lima Silva, Director
  • Adalberto Val, Director

Especial Secretariat for Science and Technology of the City of Rio de Janeiro

  • Franklin Dias Coelho, Secretary

Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro

  • Luiz Felipe Guanaes Rego, Director of NIMA (Interdisciplinary Nucleus for the Environment)
Document Actions