Other sites
Strengthening international science for the benefit of society

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Home > About > Transition Team
New Future Earth website

Please note that Future Earth now has its own website at http://www.futureearth.org/. These pages are being kept for archiving purposes only.

Transition Team

The committee that led the initial design phase of the new initiative, the 'Transition Team', comprised seventeen members from a wide range of disciplines and countries, and also included ex-officio members representing the main partners of the Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability.

Three working groups were established to carry the operational work forward and an Executive Group, a small subset of the Team, oversaw these on a regular basis.



Tanya Abrahamse

CEO, South African Biodiversity Research Institute, South Africa

Bertha Becker

Emeritus Professor, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Rohan D'Souza**

Professor, Centre for Studies in Science Policy, School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Karl Jones

Executive Director, Catastrophe Management Services, Asia Pacific and Australia, Willis Re Australia, Willis Group, Australia

Rik Leemans**

Professor, Wageningen University, Netherlands

Peter Liss**

Professor, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom

Diana Liverman*,**

Co-Director Institute of the Environment
University of Arizona, US

Harold Mooney

Professor, Stanford University, US

Isabelle Niang

Professor, Université de Dakar, Senegal

Karen O'Brien

Professor, University of Oslo, Norway

Hermann Requardt

CEO, Siemens Health Care Sector, Germany

Johan Rockström*,**

Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Centre, Sweden

Roberto Sanchez

Professor, Department of Urban and Environmental Studies, El Colegio de la Frontera Norte Mexico, Mexico

Martin Visbeck**

Professor, Chairman of Physical Oceanography
Helmholtz-Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany

Robert Watson

Director, Strategic Development, Tyndall Centre
University of East Anglia, United Kingdom,
and Defra Chief Scientific Advisor

Tandong Yao

Director, Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Stephen Zebiak

Director, Climate Services Initiativeat the Earth Institute,
Columbia University, US

Ex-officio members**

Joseph Alcamo

Chief Scientist, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

Irina Bokova

Director General, United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Heide Hackmann

Executive Director, International Social Science Council (ISSC)

Gretchen Kalonji

Assistant Director General for Natural Sciences, United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Albert van Jaarsveld

Co-Chair, Belmont Forum

Patrick Monfray

Co-Chair, Belmont Forum

Jakob Rhyner

Vice-Rector in Europe, United Nations University (UNU); Director, UNU-EHS, Institute for Environment and Human Security

Paul Rouse

Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), United Kingdom

Steven Wilson

Executive Director, International Council for Science (ICSU)


Ghassem Asrar

Director, World Climate Research Programme (WCRP)

Anantha Duraiappah

Executive Director, International Human Dimensions Programme (IHDP)

Anne Larigauderie

Executive Director, DIVERSITAS, an international programme of biodiversity science

Jeremiah Lengoasa

Deputy Secretary, General of World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Sybil Seitzinger

Executive Director, International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP)

**Executive Group member

Document Actions